EC-Council was established as a result of the September 11th attacks on the World Trade Centre. This catastrophic event highlighted how significantly poor security throughout the world during this time. The organisation’s founder Jay Bavisi discovered that the security community at the time of the attacks did not have the resources to thwart an attack should a cyberattack take place.

EC-Council was established to create information security training and certification programs. These tools would provide the economy with the tools that they would rely on in the event of a devastating cyber attack. Over the years, EC-Council has gained the support and backing of top researchers and subject matter experts from throughout the world. As a result of such significant backing, EC Council has launched its first Information Security Program, the Certified Ethical Hacker.

EC-Council’s Mission

EC-Council’s mission is to validate information security professionals and equip them with the necessary knowledge and skills required in the specialised information security domain. It is believed that these tools will help to avert a cybersecurity incident should one arise.

EC-Council is committed to upholding the highest standards in its practice, decision-making and authority in all matters related to certifications, and has successfully certified over 200,000 security professionals. EC-Council has certified individuals from organisations such as Microsoft, IBM and the United Nations.

Cyber Security EC-Council Certification Programmes

EC-Council offers a range of training and certifications within the areas of Advanced, Core, Fundamentals, Management, Security Awareness and Specialist.

A selection of the programmes on offer are as follows:

  • Certified Network Defender
  • Certified Ethical Hacking
  • CEH (Master)
  • Computer Hacking Forensic Investigator
  • Certified Security Specialist
  • Certified Network Defense
  • Certified Application Security Engineer
  • Certified Chief Information Security Officer
  • Advanced Network Defense
  • Council Certified Security Analyst
  • Licensed Penetration Tester
  • CND (Certified Network Defender)
  • Advanced Penetration Testing
  • EC Council Certified Incident Handler

EC-Council Degrees

Events of the 21st century have shown the world just how crucial high-quality knowledge of cybersecurity is to ensure the protection of information. As technology advances, so does the intelligence of hackers and criminals who operate in large crime rings and make millions of dollars from unsuspecting individuals and governments. In recent years there has also been an influx of security incidents in the breach of sensitive information within large organisations such as banks within the United Kingdom. All of these events illustrate how advantageous it is for individuals to obtain a cybersecurity certification.

EC-Council’s University Graduate Certificate Programme focuses on the competencies necessary for cybersecurity professionals to become managers, CIOs and directors. The course allows students to experience specialised training in a variety of IT security areas as well as an understanding of how to analyse and navigate the organisation’s hierarchy successfully. Certificates are targeted towards the skills and understandings specific to particular roles in IT and can be taken either singly or as multiples up to a set of five – each building across knowledge domains, ranging from an IT practitioner skill level to IT executive skill levels. EC-Council offer the following Graduate Certificate Programmes:

  • Information Security Professional
  • Security Analyst
  • Enterprise Security Architect
  • Digital Forensics
  • Incident Management and Business Continuity
  • Executive Leadership in Information Assurance